

THE BLACKPOOL COUNCIL SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

16 May 2016, 11.00 am in the Council Chamber

Order of Proceedings

1. Seating

Council members and invited guests to their seats in the body of the Chamber, prior to the start of the meeting.

BUSINESS:

2. Apologies for absence.

3. Appointment of the Honorary Aldermen

To propose: Councillor Simon Blackburn **To second:** Councillor Tony Williams

4. Speeches of support

The nominated spokespersons will be invited to address the Council and in line with convention for civic meetings he speeches will not be time limited.

For Mrs Joyce Delves

Conservative Spokesperson: Councillor Paul Galley Labour Spokesperson: Councillor Fred Jackson

For Mr Peter Evans

Conservative Spokesperson: Councillor Tony Williams Labour Spokesperson: Councillor Christine Wright

For Mrs Val Haynes

Labour Spokesperson: Councillor Chris Ryan

Conservative Spokesperson: Councillor Don Clapham

For Mr Henry Mitchell

Conservative Spokesperson: Councillor Mrs Maxine Callow

Labour Spokesperson: Councillor David Owen

For Mrs Sylvia Taylor

Labour Spokesperson: Councillor Luke Taylor

Conservative Spokesperson: Councillor Andrew Stansfield

This will then be voted upon.

4. Presentation of a gift from the Mayor (Councillor Peter Callow) to each of the Honorary Aldermen

After the appointment of the Honorary Aldermen, each Honorary Alderman in turn will be presented with a gift from the Mayor and each of them will have the opportunity to address the Council.

Invited guests retire for light refreshments in the Mayors Parlour.

A buffet lunch for Councillors will be served in the Members' Training room, prior to the Annual Council meeting.